Bermuda and Saint Helena in Russia recognized as unfriendly (October 30, 2022)

The list of foreign states and territories that commit unfriendly actions against Russia, Russian companies and citizens includes 11 British Overseas Territories, the press service of the Russian government reported. Initially, it contained only three overseas territories of Great Britain.

“11 more British Overseas Territories have been added to the list, which supported the sanctions imposed by the UK on Russia. These are Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Akrotiri and Dhekelia, Turks and Caicos “, the cabinet said in a statement.

The press service clarified that initially the list included three territories controlled by the UK – the island of Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands and Gibraltar, now it includes all overseas possessions of London.

In March, the Russian government approved a list of states and territories that commit unfriendly actions against Russia, as well as its companies and citizens. The list includes EU member states, as well as Australia, Albania, Andorra, UK, Iceland, Canada, Liechtenstein, Micronesia, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Republic of Korea, San Marino, North Macedonia, Singapore, USA, Taiwan, Ukraine , Montenegro, Switzerland, Japan and other states and territories that supported anti-Russian sanctions. Later this list was expanded several times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button